AI courses in Montreal, compared.
Ten options side by side, with the format, the length, the price and who each one suits. I run one of them, so I say plainly where another one is the better pick.
How to pick, by what you want
- A certificate for your resume: Concordia’s four-course certificate, or McGill’s AI in Action.
- Something free to start with: HEC Montréal’s self-paced training, funded by the Government of Canada with IVADO.
- A short group course in French: Université de Montréal (9 hours) or Collège de Maisonneuve (8 hours).
- Training for a whole team, paid by the employer: Mila, or Liftia, which is accredited for Quebec’s 1% training law.
- A new career writing code: Le Wagon’s bootcamp or Collège LaSalle’s AEC. Both teach programming and math.
- Your own week back, on your own files: one-to-one training.
Where one-to-one training fits
Group courses teach everyone the same example. One-to-one training starts from the jobs in your week and you practise on your real files, so nothing has to be translated back to your desk afterwards.
It has two clear limits. You get a written recap of every session, and no diploma. It also costs more than an 8-hour group overview, although far less than a bootcamp. If a certificate matters to your employer, take one of the university options first and come back for the hands-on part.
The details of the format are on the AI training in Montreal page, and there are pages for small business owners, professionals, beginners and schools.
How this list was checked
I read each provider’s own page on 19 October 2026 and kept only what the page states. Where a page leaves something out, the table says so. Prices and dates change, so confirm on their site before you sign up.
| Option | Format and length | Price | Language | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Concordia, Certificate in AI Proficiency: four no-code courses | Online, evening groups. Four courses of 30 hours | $985 per course | English or French | A certificate on your resume |
| McGill Executive Institute, AI in Action: ChatGPT, prompting, workflows | Group. Four live half days online, or two days in person | CA$2,395 | English | Managers who want a McGill certificate of completion |
| HEC Montréal, Practicing Your Profession in the AI Era: responsible use | Online videos at your own pace. Length not stated | Free | English or French | A free start on judgment and ethics |
| Université de Montréal, Intelligence artificielle au travail: AI at work | Live on Zoom, group. 9 hours | $350 plus taxes | French | A short group course in French |
| Collège de Maisonneuve, Intelligence artificielle: introduction: concepts and tools | Live trainer plus digital resources. 8 hours | $224.20, taxes included | French | The cheapest short overview |
| Mila, custom AI learning programs: from productivity to technical AI | Teams, online or in person. Half a day to several days | On request | Not stated | Companies training a whole team |
| Liftia, AI training in Montreal: ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot, Gemini | Teams, at your office or by video. Length not stated on the page | On request. CPMT accredited | Not stated | Employers spending their 1% training budget |
| Le Wagon, Data Science and AI bootcamp: Python, SQL, machine learning | Group, online or on campus. 2 months full time or 6 months part time | 12,500 CAD | English | A career change into data |
| Collège LaSalle, AEC in AI and Machine Learning: college program | In person, full time, daytime. 5 semesters | About $17,100 total, per their fee calculator | English or French | A technical career in AI |
| Abdul AI Setup: one to one, on your own work | Remote screen share on weekends. A few sessions, with a written recap after each one | $1,500 one to one. $650 to $1,000 each in a group | English or French | Using AI on your own work this month |
Questions people ask
Is there a free AI course in Montreal?
Yes. HEC Montréal offers free, self-paced AI training for professionals, in English and French, with a certificate of completion. It is funded by the Government of Canada’s Future Skills program with IVADO.
Which AI courses in Montreal are taught in French?
Université de Montréal and Collège de Maisonneuve teach their short courses in French. HEC Montréal and Concordia run in English or French, and Collège LaSalle has French cohorts. One-to-one training runs in either language.
Do I need to know how to code?
Only for the technical programs, Le Wagon and Collège LaSalle. The other options on this page are made for people who do not code.
Can my employer pay for AI training?
Often, yes. McGill says its course qualifies under Quebec’s 1% training law, Liftia is CPMT accredited, and Mila builds programs for organizations. For a school or institute, I invoice the institution directly.
Which option gets me using AI at work fastest?
The one that starts from your own work. A short group course gives you the concepts in a day, and one-to-one sessions put them to work on your files from the first hour.
Start with a free call.
It takes fifteen minutes. Tell me what eats your week, and I will tell you which tools are worth your time.